Dialling in espresso in a coffee truck

Dialling in espresso
I have been running a coffee truck for two years now and we have a really hard time keeping our espresso consistent. We use a la marzocco linea classic and a mythos clima pro grinder. The espresso stays in the same range for a few shots and then suddenly a shot will be way too slow or way too fast. “Dialling in” in the morning almost feels useless as the results changes within 15 minutes. We use scales through every step as well. I’m wondering if anyone has any tips for us as we waste quite a bit of coffee and it can be very time consuming. Since we are in a mobile vehicle we think it may have to do with changing temperatures
Any suggestions will help!
Thank you

I recommend you to read this article where they go over the dialling in of the Barista express in details.

Everything in regards to keeping your coffee consistent is to weigh your beans, make sure the settings on your grinder is the same, and use the same beans, and the same pressure when tamping.

All of this should almost guarantee you get a fairly consistent coffee.

If your grinder settings change maybe it’s because of the fact that you are using a machine that is designed for casual use, as a professional one.
Meaning the grinder heats up and therefore will grind differently. One strange solution, to test this would be to try to keep the grinder in a cold storage area of your truck, and test it over a few hours, and see if it helps.

Good luck

Hey!

I feel for you.

The initial shots on a Linea Classic AV are much cooler than when you make a lot of shots one after the other. When you have a lull in service your brew temp will also go down.

So if you have your PID set to say 94 you will likely be brewing around 80 - 90 ish as you dial in.