Bitter espresso but decreasing yield won't do the trick

Hi everyone,

(I initially posted this question under Matt’s coffee compass article, but I think I should have posted the question here instead. Sorry for that!!)

I have been working with an ECM Giotto HX for a few months now, but lately I have run into a brewing mystery and the compass cannot help me to solve it: I am brewing an espresso with a very fat bean. The ratio I use is 1:2, 18 grams in and 36 out. This takes around 29 seconds. I use an Eric’s thermometer in my E61 brewhead to make sure brewing temperature is around 93-94 degrees. The taste of the espresso is quite rich, so I am quite happy with that. But somehow it keeps on having a slight bitter undertone and the texture feels a little grainy. That last thing must be because undoubtedly this espresso has a high TDS. I ended up with this ratio because I have tried to eliminate the bitterness continuously by decreasing the yield. The weird thing to me is that a 1:2 brewing ratio is close to a ristretto already, so it feels wrong to decrease the yield even more to balance out the bitterness with more sourness. I have also tried to grind finer, but when I do the machine does not manage to push any water through. Decreasing the temperature also doesn’t seem to do the trick… and I’m pretty sure I keep my machine pretty clean with regular backflushes with Cafiza… so bring it back home: what would you suggest I do to eliminate the bitterness and add sweetness and hopefully also a smoother mouthfeel to my shot? What variable am I missing? :slight_smile:

Thanks!

michel

1 Like

Hey michel!

have you tried dropping the run time from 29s to 27/26/25s? if bitterness is creeping innit means you’ve actually gone past the sweet spot, so by coarsening the grind and therefore extracting less, you’ll be brought right back into the sweet zone.
The coarser grind will also help smooth out the body too :vulcan_salute:t3::nerd_face:

hope this helps,
Nico