Preferred pour over units/reasoning

Looking to purchase one for home use. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks.

Hi Dylan,

For curiosities sake, are you an experienced home brewer or just diving in to specialty coffee? From there, I’m sure our fellow hustlers (myself included…) will have some suggestions + ideas. Oh yeah, everyone will have a different opinion and everyone will be right!

Regards,
Shawn

I’ve been working in a small specialty coffee shop for about the last three months now, and have been close friends with the baristas on bar there for about five years. I’ve been doing pour overs based off the ratios and grind consitiencies they had given me as well as been taught a proper technique years prior. The shop I’m on with is a wholesale partner with Counter Culture and I am working through their classes to obtain their certification.

I’ve been using an off brand ceramic bonmac my friends gifted me for my birthday, but I’ve been looking at the kalita waves because I have used one and enjoy how light they are. However, some reviews stated that after about a year or so of use the rivets had rusted… which has me considerig the harios metal v60’s. Previous to the off brand bonmac I’d been using a gsi backpacking set up for my pour overs, but since getting on at the shop I’m wanting to get a decent set for home.

Best,
Dylan

Hey Dylan,

Like I said, everyone will have a preference and think that their preferred method is on the only way!