How to Use the Reichert R2 Mini Coffee Refractometer for Extraction (TDS%) Testing?

Folks

I have the Reichert R2 Mini Refractometer that has the coffee cup image on the front ( catelog 13940010 SN 01880-0409), so I suspect that the unit is accurate enough for coffee TDS testing. I welcome any comments on this.

I have a number of questions, as I’m a newbie at this refractometer stuff. Thanks for your help.

What I am unsure about is how to test an espresso sample, to obtain a TDS percentage. I need step by step guidance. Any info or directly useful links would be gratefully appreciated.

I understand that one has to pass the espresso coffee though a filter, to remove undisolved solids. But the R2 does not come with one. What spec of filter should I use and where can I procure it at reasonable cost?

And do I need to cool the coffee to 20c? I understand that I should in any event allow the coffee temp and the prism temp to equalize.

How do I adjust for temperature? If so, how? Or is this automatic?

How do I end up with a TDS % reading? Will the unit display this or must I calculate? If so, how?

Sorry for the many questions. Any help would be gratefully appreciated.

JHCCoffee

i haven’t used the refractometer you are using but i have home experience with the atago and work experience with the vst, so i will try to help you out.