Time and Yield impact on extraction

I have read articles on extraction and yield. I understand that extraction goes up with yield and we would like to maximize that in most cases (at least that’s what I understand a message of a “yield” article is even though it’s not always true based on the discussion in the facebook group?). But how does time impact that?

What I am struggling with is that it seems it’s impossible to over-extract when extraction increases because of yield but easy to over-extract when it increases because of time. Could you please point me in the right direction to help me understand this better? Thanks!

I have found an article on time and I think got a much better idea now. The remaining question — is it possible to over-extract by increasing a yield (keeping everything else same). Does it then become a quest of getting a perfect extraction with maximum possible strength?

@jimvibe I’m still learning all of this as well, but I would love to give my input and hope someone who has a better understanding will join and set things straight!

From my understanding, there’s more factors that will affect extraction than just yield and time.

So, you could have a great yield (final amount of water + coffee) but still have a very low extraction. This is because grind size (and time, and pressure, and others) also plays a factor in extraction.

Example: You’re making a Chemex. You have a very coarse grind. You run water through your grinds until you’ve reached your desired yield (final liquid coffee). But your time will be very quick (because your grinds were coarse) and thus your extraction will be very low because the water was unable to spend enough time with the grinds.