My batch brew sucks. Why?

This questions seems boring and obvious but I’m sick of googling things and thought maybe someone could offer some insight into my frustration.

I’ve just started at a new place as head barista brewing on a Bunn Smart Wave.
The recipe I was left with by the last barista was 1:10 ratio EK setting 7 for a 1L batch. My last place brewed 1:16 ratio EK 9-10 for 2.5L and I thought, there is no way that that recipe is going to taste good and that it’s going to be way too strong. But I tried it and it was probably a bit weak if anything. So now I’m using 1:10 EK 6 and I’m struggling to get any sort of sweetness without also getting bitterness.

A few options I have thought of:

1. Get over it and make the average filter
    - My current course of action
  2. I’ve never worked with this roaster before maybe it’s just different coffee
    - I’ve tried it at home and it seems to be ok with my usual kalita recipe
  3. The EK struggles to grind fine enough for espresso, maybe the grinder is the issue?
    - This seems the most likely to me as an uneven grind would explain the flavour I’m getting
  4. Different brewer
    - There are 4 different brew cycle and I’m currently set to the longest one.
  5. Is it something to do with the smaller batch?
    - I dunno…

Is there anything I’m missing? Please help me make tasty batch brew tasty.

Thanks in advance coffee people

Give this handy link a read. It will encompass things you already know, but maybe some things that trigger a solution.

Hi Owen!

Short Version: Try to scale your Kalita recipe to your brewer. Total contact time should be 6-7 minutes for batch though. EK should be set to the coarsest 15%.

I hope the following details are helpful:
Batch Brew Basics
On Extraction Measurement Batch Specific Info at 27 minutes

If those basics alone aren’t helping:
EK43 Alignment