Money/Wages question

Hi,

I’m relatively new to the forum and I’ve been lurking here for a while without posting. I’m in my final year of uni studying Wildlife & Conservation. I started off at a chain coffee shop here in the UK for my first year in coffee and have just moved to an independent to further my knowledge in coffee. So down to my real question here… It’s my last year and after 3 years studying I’ve gone through that phase of asking “where do i want to be down the line, what do I want to do with my life?”. Now I can tell you although conservation is something I enjoy, especially the scientific side reading journals etc I don’t think it’s for me.

I’m mesmerised with coffee and I’ll be working as a barista 30 - 40 hours a week when I finish uni, it’s something I’m really thinking about going all the way with and becoming the best I can possibly be at producing quality coffee as a barista.

It’s not all about the money for me, but my question is what is the potential amount of money that can be earned if you’re a top barista, with a ton of experience working at one of the best independents? Or perhaps opening your own shop once you get past your first couple of years attempting to break even and become profitable?

Now I know these questions are extremely open to a multitude of variables and that opening your own shop has an endless potential for income (but could very well go down and fail). I’m not entirely worried about the money as I left my old job that paid more simply for a more authentic barista experience, just curious. Thank you for any and all replies.

Josh

I sort of got to this point.